2024 Western Mensurationists Meeting

The Western Mensurationists meeting for 2024 will be held June 16-18,2024 at Granlibakken Tahoe. 

The meeting will once again be held at Granlibakken Tahoe (we were there in 1997).


Sunday, June 16

5-7 pm Icebreaker Social

Monday, June 17

7:30 am Coffee

8 am – 12 pm Presentation Block 1

12 – 1 pm  Lunch (provided)

1 – 5 pm Presentation Block 2

6 – 7 pm Banquet

Tuesday, June 18

7:30 am Coffee

8 am – 12 pm Presentation Block 3

Call for abstracts

The call for abstracts is open for the 2024 Western Mensurationists’ meeting in Tahoe, California June 16-18.

We are inviting individuals to submit abstracts for traditional talks and/or science flashes (short presentations to showcase emerging research or highlight unique/interesting ideas and applications).  Topics for abstracts are open to all aspects of mensuration — forest measurements, modeling, inventory, growth and yield, planning, analysis, etc.  Abstracts should be less than 750 words.  The due date for submission of abstracts is Friday, March 15, 2024.  Abstracts should be sent to Samantha Gill.  

Any questions should also be addressed to Samantha Gill via email.


Registration cost for the conference is $435.

Location & Lodging Information

Granlibakken Tahoe
725 Granlibakken Road
Tahoe City, CA 96145

Granlibakken Conference Reservation Form


“Western Mensurationists Lifetime Achievement Award” honors scientists that contributed significantly to the quantitative aspects of the western North American forestry. The award aims at senior researchers that are associated with the Western Mensurationists group and have shaped the forest research of/from the western region of the USA and Canada.

The award is given only once to an individual. The selection process starts by ranking the scientists according to the number of nominations from fellows mensurationists. The person with the largest number of nominations is then validated by the Lifetime Achievement award committee. The recipients of the awards are:

  • 2023: Kim Iles

Please submit your nomination for the 2024 Award by clicking HERE.


In 2009 two SOEMNS fellows, Lewis Jordan and Ray Souter, started the Mike Strub Challenge contest, to honor Mike Strub’s inquisitory mind, tenacity in pursuing forest related questions, and not the least, its kindness. Western Mensurationists decided to mirror this passion for numerical forestry with a challenge of its own. Therefore, starting with 2023, the Kim Iles Mathematical Challenge is launched in Canmore AB, Canada. The challenge bears the name of Kim Iles who can be considered the epitome of a forest mensurationist: integrated within the environment, considerate toward nature and humans,  comprehensive in endeavor, inquisitorial in scientific pursue, wise in recommendations, and Shakespearian in expressing. Different from SOMENS, the Western Mens challenge has two parts one for theoretical and one practical. The winner of the challenge are as follows. PDF of the solution is linked to the winner(s) name(s) below.

The 2024 Challenge can be accessed HERE