“SOMENS Achievement Award” honors scientists that contributed significantly to quantitative southern forestry. The award aims at senior researchers that are associated with the Southern Mensurationists group and have shaped the forest research of/from the southern region of the USA. The following outstanding mensurationists received the award:

  • 2022 Barry Shriver- UGA
  • 2021 Dehai Zhao – UGA
  • 2019 Chris Cieszewski – UGA
  • 2018 Ralph Amateis – VT
  • 2017 Tom Lynch – OKSU
  • 2016 John Paul Mctague – Rayonier
  • 2015 Quang Cao – LSU
  • 2014 Mike Strub – Weyerhaeuser
  • 2013 Harold Burkhart – VT

MIKE STRUB Mathematical Challenge

In 2009 Lewis Jordan and Ray Souter started the Mike Strub Challenge contest, to honor Mike Strub’s inquisitory mind, tenacity in pursuing forest related questions, and not the least, its kindness. Truthout the years many people got their share of fame, in many instances with Lewis as the master of ceremony. PDF of the solution is linked to the winner(s) name(s) below.